catching up… and venting

I didn’t mean to take a month-long hiatus… I’ve been busy.

Between painting flowerpots, visiting friends, feeling generally antisocial, work-related craziness, and various day to day aspects of life, things have just gotten a little insane. Add to that an unhealthy dose of sleep deprivation, lack of exercise, and an unusually large amount of gaming, and you have a recipe for a lack of blog posts.

Okay, but I did do some blog-worthy things… Painting the flowerpots was pretty cool. (Look for a blog post on that one in the near future.) And speaking of recipes, I have a very simple recipe for brownies that will drive everyone wild. They are not homemade, they’re just from a boxed mix… But the way that I made them drove all of my coworkers wild. I have had several people come up to me at work and tell me that they were the best brownies they ever had. So, if you have a special occasion coming up, and not very much time to prepare, these brownies will be perfect for you. Look for an upcoming blog post about them as well.

I also have a couple of stories to tell you. 

The first story is about a woman I encountered in a store recently. I was passing through an aisle of craft supplies on my way to a different section, though it was not a craft supply store, and another customer was passing through in  the opposite direction as myself. Suddenly, she started asking me questions about the project but she was doing. I was extremely surprised, as I did not look anything like an associate from that store, nor was I well dressed. My surprise must have shown on my face, for the woman then asked me if I minded if she asked me questions about her project. I really did not want to get into a conversation about the project, as I was rather in a hurry. I am artsy enough that I could probably have figured it out for her, however, I politely told her I wasn’t sure how she would approach her project. I felt slightly bad about it, so I did give her a hint as to what paint to use as I walked away. I felt somewhat conflicted about the entire interaction, but I had to use the restroom rather urgently, so I didn’t let it stop me. Some people will probably tell me that I should have stayed and tried to help the woman. However, I simply thought the entire interaction was strange. What would you have done in that situation?

The second story happened today in a parking lot. After purchasing groceries, I was headed out to my car. The man in the car next to me decided to leave his door open as he went to put away his shopping cart, and presumably, to vent all the hot air out of his car. However, there was one problem with that. His open door was blocking my door, so I could not enter my vehicle. The only way to get into my car was through the door that he was blocking, and there was no polite way for me to shove past and get into my car. He was right next to me the entire time, saw my frustration, and did not even bother to apologize or move to fix the situation. I gave him a tight, frustrated smile, the kind that you give strangers with whom you are angry. I politely stated that I was just waiting to get into my vehicle. He said, “Yep, me too,” and leisurely made his way to his car. Why do you have to be so rude, jerkface? I was definitely irritated for much longer than I should have been after he finally drove away and I was safely in my vehicle. I wish I’d thought to get his plate number, though what I would have done with it, I don’t know. It’s not illegal to be a jerk, it’s just frustrating. I’m not sure if the incident would have counted as harassment or not, but thankfully it’s over.

But the world is like that sometimes, I suppose. Sometimes there are strange ladies asking you questions in a store. And sometimes there are arrogant, entitled assholes who think that they own the world, and you’re just something for them to step on. Sometimes you can’t do anything about the situation except try to avoid letting it get the best of you.

Leave a Reply

