Wonder Woman

I saw the new Wonder Woman movie twice last week. I thought it was decent, and liked it a bit better the second time, but I won’t ruin it for you. (This post does contain spoilers in the last paragraph, though.)

Anyway, I went to a local comics and figure shop and found a Wonder Woman action figure. I broke all the rules of collectible figurines by unboxing her and touching up the paint. (When you’re done hyperventilating, come back. If you are wondering why I’d decrease the value like that, it’s because a) I bought her and I can, b) value is only what someone is willing to pay for something, and she wasn’t that expensive, and c) I’m not planning on selling her, and I want to enjoy displaying her. If the paint job bothers me, I’m an artist; there’s no reason to settle for a bad paint job.) I’m still touching up flaws, but overall I’m much happier with her now.

Anyway, I bought the Wonder Woman figurine to help remind me of some things I need to work on:

  • to be physically fit (so I can fight bad guys)
  • to try and make the world a better place than I find it
  • not to settle for less than I should

Plus, Wonder Woman is smart and strong, honor-bound, values truth, and cares about people. Most female comic book characters​ are drawn with a degree of “hotness” that is simply not attainable… So it’s nice to remember that people are about more than how they look, and I thought the new movie did a good job with that aspect of her character.

*SPOILER ALERT*

As for the card in the picture, “Do no harm, but take no sh*t” is from a Tumblr post, though I’m not sure who to credit it to. I thought it was helpful, though: don’t harm others, but don’t let yourself be walked on, either. “Be strong like an Amazon princess” because wow, the Amazons’ training is pretty intense in Wonder Woman. And finally, “Hold on to what you believe” means that while I don’t intend it as an excuse for ignorance, you should hold tight to what you believe is right. Diana believed that Ares was responsible for the war, even though everyone else thought she was crazy… And while she listened to the others, she ultimately trusted her gut and saved the day.

Leave a Reply

