is my fish pregnant?

My female molly, whom I finally named Chell, is possibly pregnant.

I wasn’t sure at first, but she seems to have a baby bump that is getting more and more prominent.

Chell on June 7, 2017.
Chell on June 13, 2017.

It may not look like much of a difference between the two pictures, but it’s enough. Last week I was wondering, “Is she pregnant?” And this week I look at her and think, “Yep, definitely pregnant.” I don’t know a lot about fish breeding, but I have been doing a lot of Google research. I know that mollies are livebearers (unlike bettas, who lay eggs), and that the babies are very likely to be eaten by the parents. I’ll have to find out more so I’m prepared for fry to show up.

Leave a Reply

