a few days of sunshine and rain

I finally brought back my container garden on the balcony! I used to do this every summer, growing tomatoes, peppers, herbs, a few flowers, and occasionally carrots. Carrots don’t really like containers, in my experience, but the tomatoes were always fun. I haven’t done it for a couple of years, and I decided to bring back some of my old hobbies.
This year, though, I’ve downsized. I’m just growing a few flowers and herbs, for less maintenance. From left to right: foxglove, strawberries, basil, mint, and mandevilla (which is still waiting to be repotted).

My slightly unconventional planter box (on the left) is made from a storage tote, with plastic shims underneath and holes poked into​ the bottom to help with drainage. I layered play sand, potting soil, garden soil, and perlite inside, and planted wildflower seeds around the foxglove. So, hopefully soon I’ll have some color!

Leave a Reply

