Musings

What do I want to be when I grow up? It’s still a question I’m asking myself, and I’m not much closer to answering it than when I last wrote about it. I’m listening to Cut Copy and Empire of the Sun right now… I have a thing for catchy indie bands.

While I’m technically ‘grown up,’ I guess I never took enough time to figure out what I wanted to do in my life, career-wise. I know that I eventually want to get married and have a family, but I need to figure out who I am and what else I want to do. I have a lot going for me, but I don’t push myself to really find my full potential.

When I graduated from high school and entered college, I declared myself an Art and English double major, thinking that I wanted to write and illustrate children’s books. However, I don’t really enjoy the writing process that much, and I start to hate art when I make it a job instead of a hobby and means of expression.

Then I decided that I should be a book editor… But I don’t like the idea of the kind of highly competitive person I’d have to become in order to be successful in that field.

Now I’m thirty-one, and considering Biology as a major. It’s high time that I figured out what I want in life. Is my end goal just to make money? Or do I want to find a way to make a difference?

What are my passions? How can I use them to drive myself forward? It’s difficult to make myself cast aside the safety of my lifestyle, even if I’m in a rut. I’ve gotten too comfortable, and I’m beginning to get set in my ways. So now is as good a time as any to jump off (figurative) cliffs, and do the things I’ve always wanted to do, even though they lie outside my comfort zone.

This awesome quote, attributed to Mark Twain, does a great job of making the point I’m trying to get across here. It’s time for me to start living. I owe it to myself.

Leave a Reply

