What Should I Be When I Grow Up?

That’s the question I’ve been asking myself since I was a kid. When I was about five, all I wanted to be when I grew up was a wife and a stay-at-home mom (like my mom). By the age of approximately ten, I’d added the unique career ambition of astronaut-entomologist-ballerina to that. I thought astronauts were cool (okay, I still do), I was taking ballet lessons at the time, and I’ve always liked bugs. I had a “bug barn,” and I’d spend tons of time catching bugs, putting them into my bug barn, and watching them. Eventually I’d free them, but it was awesome to watch how each type of bug behaved. (This was very much encouraged by my scientific parents, who made sure the bugs went free by bedtime.)

I can also remember one other passion I had as a kid, which I still have as an adult, and that is reading. By the time I was 11, I wrote my first short story. I’m not sure whether I finished it, but it was about a kid named José who lived in Arizona and liked exploring. It was heavily based on The Last Chance Detectives episodes and The Boxcar Children books. The next year, I wrote another story, also heavily based on The Last Chance Detectives, called “The Deltawater Detectives.” It is, to date, the only short story I have ever completed. It was about a group of kids who thwarted a jewel heist. My dad still teases me about this story. I went on to start dozens of stories, typically losing interest or motivation before I figured out what would happen next.

The point of all this is, I may not have to look too much further than my childhood dreams to find out what I should do with my life. I love stories, and I know I want to do something with them. Perhaps I should be editing the work that another writer has done, or teaching college students how to become better writers. But I probably should also be writing something myself… So that’s the purpose of this blog. It’s a tool to help me find my voice.

What’s your dream? What did you love as a kid? What do you love now? I’d love to hear from you… leave me a comment! No matter where you are in your journey through life, I hope you find yourself in a good story.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Connie says:

    Excited to see you finding your voice through writing ♡.

    As for me… a fashion designer (I was sketching as far back as kindergarten) and an opera singer.
    So far not exaaactly living the life of either, but at the core is the desire to be creative, helpful and innovative. Wherever that leads is a okay by me 😉

    Like

  2. Josh says:

    Inspiring! The Deltawater Detectives were the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

